2016 New England Publishing Collaboration Awards

2016 New England Publishing Collaboration Awards

The New England Publishing Collaboration (NEPCo) Awards recognizes collaborative achievements and educates a new generation of publishing leaders. This year’s awards take place at The Rockwell (formerly Davis Square Theater) on Wednesday, November 9.
Check out this assembly of extraordinary local talent:

The Finalists

2016 NEPCo finalists will describe their collaborative projects onstage at The Rockwell (formerly Davis Square Theatre), in tightly timed 3-minute presentations.

The Judges

Kent R. Anderson, CEO of RedLink

Bill Barke, Board of Directors of Flat World Knowledge

Abby Howell, software engineer at Wistia, a web video hosting service in Cambridge

Nicole Pinard, Executive Director of Product Management at Wolters Kluwer Law & Business

The Speaker

Matthew Pearl joins us to discuss his book, The Last Bookaneer, released in paperback this year.
When we discuss pirated books today, the threat is most often digital. But pirated books existed long before the internet, when IP theft often required travel to foreign lands. “Literary pirates” ventured abroad to secure copies of the latest works, and they were known as bookaneers (from “privateers”). Copyright was not recognized across borders, and the thieves reproduced the most popular titles with impunity.

The Advisory Panel

In 2016, the NEPCo Committee is introducing a VIP Advisory Panel. The industry representatives below will attend NEPCo as our guests and – in exchange – provide feedback to inform the development of future events.
  • Tony Alves, Director of Product Management, Aries Systems
  • Diane Belcher, Director, Continuous Learning, Harvard Business School Publishing
  • Tom Beyer, Director of Platform Services, O’Reilly Media
  • Sue Brown, Director, Content Management Solutions, Macmillan Learning
  • Paula Graham-Dwyer, Controller, Crossref
  • Michael Kelly, Senior Director, Global Publishing, Hasbro
  • Chris Lamothe, SVP, Experience Design, Cantina
  • Mary Onorato, Associate Director, Bibliographic Information Services, Modern Language Association
  • Ryan Pugatch, VP Strategic Technology, Hachette Book Group
  • Philip Regan, Director of Publishing Technology, Jones & Bartlett Learning
To get more information or to buy tickets go to www.nepcoawards.com